FAQ

Frequently asked questions.

What are first reflections?
First reflections are those vibrations that first hit a wall and are reflected back to the ear. These reflections can massively influence the direct sound of the loudspeakers. The result is overemphasis or cancellation of certain frequencies and thus an enormous influence or distortion of the sound. First reflections occur at the walls, the ceiling and the floor. They should be dispersed by diffusers or absorbed by absorbers.

How to locate first reflection points?
Sound waves are reflected by walls. So when the sound hits a wall it is reflected back. These reflections work according to a simple principle: angle of incidence = angle of reflection.
A simple and accurate method to find the critical points of the initial reflections is the mirror trick: You sit down on your listening position and have someone walk flat along the wall with a mirror. When you can see the front of the speaker in the mirror, you have found the position where you should act against the first reflections. This method is done for the left speaker against the left wall and the right speaker against the right wall. The mirror method can be used both on the wall and on the ceiling and in virtually any room situation.

Reverberation time
In addition to suppressing initial reflections, the reverberation time in the room is also important. This is usually specified with the value RT60 (Reverb Time 60). This value indicates how many seconds the reverberation takes to decay by 60 dB in relation to the output level. In control rooms of recording studios, a very short reverberation time with an RT60 value of approx. 0.25 - 0.3 seconds has become established. In HiFi rooms and home cinemas, on the other hand, the reverberation time should be about 0.5 seconds.
To reduce the reverberation time, broadband absorbers are recommended because they are effective over a wide frequency range. Rooms with extremely short reverberation times (< 0.5 seconds) are perceived by some people as very unpleasant, in this respect absorbers should be used very selectively.

What is the LEDE principle?
LEDE is the abbreviation for "Live End Dead End". This principle is often used in control rooms of recording studios as a basis for acoustic optimization. Here, the front half of the room around the monitoring speakers is acoustically damped, while in the rear half of the room, around the monitoring position, the sound is diffusely reflected, thus increasing the diffusivity.

FAQ

Häufig gestellte Fragen.

Was sind Erstreflexionen?
Erstreflexionen sind jene Schwingungen, die als erste an einer Wand auftreffen und als Reflexionen zum Ohr zurückgeworfen werden. Diese Reflexionen können den Direktschall der Lautsprecher massiv beeinflussen. Die Folge sind Überbetonungen oder Auslöschungen bestimmter Frequenzen und somit eine enorme Beeinflussung bzw. Verfälschung des Klangs. Erstreflexionen entstehen an den Wänden, der Decke und dem Boden. Sie sollten durch Diffusoren zerstreut oder durch Absorber absorbiert werden.

Erstreflexionspunkte wie lokalisieren?
Schallwellen werden an Wänden reflektiert. Wenn der Schall also gegen eine Wand prallt wird er zurückgeworfen. Diese Reflexionen funktionieren nach einem einfachen Prinzip: Einfallswinkel = Ausfallswinkel
Eine einfache und genaue Methode die kritischen Punkte der Erstreflexionen zu finden ist der Spiegeltrick: Man setzt sich auf seinen Hörplatz und lässt jemanden mit einem Spiegel flach an der Wand entlang gehen. Wenn man im Spiegel die Front des Lautsprechers sehen kann, ist die Position gefunden, an der gegen die Erstreflexionen vorgegangen werden sollte. Diese Methode wird für den linken Lautsprecher an der linken Wand und den rechten Lautsprecher an der rechten Wand durchgeführt. Die Spiegelmethode kann sowohl and der Wand als auch an der Decke und in quasi jeder Raumsituation eingesetzt werden.

Nachhallzeit
Neben dem Unterbinden von Erstreflexionen ist auch die Nachhallzeit im Raum von Bedeutung. Diese wird meist mit dem Wert RT60 (Reverb Time 60) angegeben. Dieser Wert sagt aus, wie viele Sekunden der Nachhall benötigt, um im Verhältnis zum Ausgangspegel um 60 dB abgeklungen zu sein. In Regieräumen von Tonstudios hat sich eine sehr kurze Nachhallzeit mit einem RT60 Wert von ca. 0,25 – 0,3 Sekunden etabliert. In HiFi Räumen und Heimkinos hingegen, sollte die Nachhallzeit bei ca. 0,5 Sekunden liegen.
Zur Reduzierung der Nachhallzeit empfehlen sich Breitband Absorber, da diese über einen großen Frequenzbereich wirksam sind. Räume mit extrem kurzen Nachhallzeiten (< 0,5 Sekunden) werden von einigen Menschen als sehr unangenehm empfunden, insofern sollten Absorber sehr gezielt eingesetzt werden.

Was ist das LEDE Prinzip?
LEDE ist die Abkürzung für „Live End Dead End“. Dieses Prinzip wird oft in Regieräumen von Tonstudios als Basis der akustischen Optimierung eingesetzt. Hierbei wird die vordere Hälfte des Raums um die Abhörlautsprecher herum akustisch gedämpft, während man in der hinteren Hälfte des Raums, um die Abhörposition herum, den Schall diffus reflektiert und somit die Diffusität erhöht.